Triumph & Defeat

Triumph & Defeat

CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO ENLARGE

Hello friends!

This spread was completed for the challenge over at Fall Fearless and Fly and boy oh boy was it a challenge!

Headline prompt: Triumphs and defeats: What do you see as your greatest triumps and defeats.  What have they taught you? Which have you learned more from?

Color prompt: Black & white

Quote prompt: Not in the clamor of the crowded street, not in the shouts and plaudits of the throng, but in ourselves, are triumph and defeat. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Click on this link to find out more about the callenge.

Just using black and white was so difficult for me and I did manage to sneek in a little bit of additional colour, the map in the top right hand corner has some red dots on it (that was intentional) and the stencil I used, still had some colorwash spray on it which came off on the page (that was unintentional)!

It was interesting to see how much depth was possible from using monochrome, but I still prefer using brighter colours.

As for triumphs and defeats in my heart I know that neither is really that important, but in reality defeats still knock me down and triumphs boost my self-confidence.  I guess I have a bit of work to do in that area 🙂

Yesterday I bought a couple of pairs of socks so I can make Sock Monkeys for Operation Sock Monkey.  It looks like fun and will challenge my sewing capabilities.  Why not give it a try?

That’s all for now, see you soon

Big love

AJ 🙂

11 thoughts on “Triumph & Defeat

  1. This page is phenomenal! I know what you mean about feeling attached to colour… I felt the same way! Your text really ‘pops’, all in all a very striking page!
    D x

Leave a comment