Its Nice to be Nice!

It's Nice to be Nice

 

Hello friends!

I hope you are all keeping well and happy.

I am pleased to report that I have been feeling pretty good for the last week and have not had to collapse onto the couch and watch daytime tv for several days now.

Anyway first things first the page above is from one of my Teesha Moore inspired journals. I’ve been wanting to use the phrase ‘It’s Nice to be Nice’ in a piece of art for a while now.  I first saw this phrase on my first visit to Tobago in 1999.  On the very short drive from the airport to our hotel (it was short drive as the hotel was on the other side of the fence from the end of the runway!) I saw this:

It's Nice to be Nice Tobago

It was a lovely way to be welcomed to the beautiful Island and when we started to meet the local people they all very friendly, laid back, chatty – all things nice.  This is what I aspire to be although I don’t always succeed…

I have now started the de-clutter of the art room and so far I’ve chucked out a couple of big bin liners of rubbish and filled a big box with stuff to take to one of the local charity shops.  I have discovered that I now have 22 completed journals, 10 journals that are in progress and enough blank (not started) journals to last me several lifetimes!

I have made the declutter slightly difficult for myself as I am insisting that before I throw something out I have to try and use at least some of it in one of my ‘in progress’ journals.  I also found a big stack of plain, thick paper so I made some journals:

New JournalsI have been making up some packs of goodies, by that I mean stuff I have previously purchased and used as art supplies (mainly papers) but no longer have room for.

I am thinking of having a ‘Give Away’ to celebrate my final round of chemo-therapy at the end of the month.  I’ll include one of the smaller journals in each pack (there are three packs in total).  But more of this later…

 

I have to say at the moment the art room does not look any tidier and even when I’ve finished I think that most people would still say it’s too cluttered, but at least I will know it’s an improvement on the chaos I’ve been living with for the past few years.

I wanted to start documenting all my journals, I tend to share images from the journals but rarely show the whole thing.  So here is the very first journal/altered book I created when I had no idea what I was doing and very little art supplies.  It’s not very good, but it was just my first attempt and I was just playing, I don’t think I’ve ever shared any images from this book before:

Take good care of yourselves and I’ll see you soon

Big love from me

AJ 🙂

 

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2011-2015 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Its Nice to be Nice!

  1. I’m glad you are feeling a bit better and have some energy back. Good for you organising and decluttering. I always feel mentally decluttered when I do that. Thanks for sharing the slideshow video. It may not be your style now but I can see the seedlings of your style in some of the mark making and pattern.

  2. Wow, AJ, you have to be feeling much better to have put this together! Lovely to see your first book, and especially in video form. In fact you may remember that we met through your journals. I saw some photos of your work on Facebook taken by a friend of mine and it was so beautiful I had to see it for myself, and eventually tracked you down to the Depozitory. So pleased you have been feeling more yourself.

    • Thank you Janice, I’m hoping to have all my journals online eventually. I would like to make some proper video recordings eventually but that may be ‘a step too far’ considering my lack of technical ability and lack of equipment but we’ll see,,,

      It’s so nice to be feeling a bit more energetic now, I hadn’t realised just how poorly I’ve been during December and January, I didn’t think things would improve until I’d finished the chemo. Just one more round to go now and then I’m hoping to get my life back. Who knows I may even do another workshop eventually….

Leave a Reply

