Moving forward slowly…

Hello friends!

I hope you are all doing well, here everything is fine, progress is slow but things are moving forward and in the meantime I’ve finished the Little Book of Cosmic Maps 🙂

Back & Front Cover

For me doodling is a really good way to pass the time..

Spread 1

Spread 2

Spread 3

Spread 4

As you can see I’ve had a bit of time on my hands recently…

I had the PET scan last week, it was OK just a bit of a hassle, it took 2 hours to get to the hospital then I had to wait an hour before I was called in, they gave me the injection of radioactive glucose and I was left on my own for another hour before I was called in for the scan.  It took about 35 minutes and then we were free to go.

I was told that I would be slightly radioactive for about 6 hours and was to avoid contact with pregnant women or children.  However I was still allowed to travel home on public transport (another couple of hours).  I didn’t stroke my two cats until the next day, but it didn’t seem to bother them.

Yesterday we went for another appointment with the consultant haematologist and she told me that the results of two of the three tests on my bone marrow are back and neither of them found the cancer in my bones.  The final test is more vigorous and the results of that are not back yet.  But so far it’s looking good.

The PET scan didn’t find any more tumours in my body (phew!) but although the tumour in my mouth has shrunk the scan found residual lesions in my jaw (I’m not sure but I think that means scaring).  So although the tumour is almost gone I still have the disease in my blood but it’s in it’s early stages and there’s a good chance that with treatment I can fully recover. So the plan (worked out by this mysterious team of invisible experts) is for me to have 6 rounds of chemo and then radiotherapy on my jaw.  It feels like I’ve been telling people for over a month now that I’ll be starting chemo ‘next week’ and that hasn’t happened but it now looks like it will start during the week commencing 3 November.  In the meantime I have to sign the consent form and have an ECG just to make sure my heart is OK. Tomorrow I have an appointment with the nurse who is going to tell me all about what’s going to happen and on Saturday I have to visit my local doctor’s surgery to have a flu jab because they want that done before the chemo starts.

Having chemo-therapy is not something I am going into lightly and in truth I’m not looking forward to it but …. ‘needs must’ as they say, I’m just not sure what to expect.

I’ve been feeling so well for the past two weeks and enjoying not being at work but tomorrow I am going to go back to work because I reckon if I take too much time off I won’t want to go back at all!  Anyway it’s pointless, and unfair on work colleagues, to have sick leave when I am not if feeling sick.  Fortunately I have good employers, I’ve worked for them for a very long time and, up until now, I have a pretty good attendance record.  I think they will be flexible around my hospital appointments and will be OK with me having time off if the chemo (or the cancer) makes me unwell over the next few months.

So all in all I am doing well at the moment, and I am staying positive and upbeat.  I hope all is good with you where ever you are in the world.

Big love

AJ 🙂

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2014 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Moving forward slowly…

  1. I love your art work! As for chemo, different people react differently to different chemo drugs and combinations. And some people (like me) get side effects that are uncommon and sometimes unheard of. This is not a case where I want to be the sole outlier!! But enough about me. Your treatment team should explain the side effects to you and how to treat them. If they don’t – ask. Depending on the drug(s), you may have nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, constipation, fatigue, neuropathy. I think those are the most common, but they can all we controlled. So ask what the side effects are and ask what they can give you to help. And of course, good luck. ❤

  2. I love your robust spirit and your “can do” attitude. I know you are going to kick cancer’s butt. Your book of cosmic maps looks amazing. Well done for completing it.

  3. So pleased to hear that your progress is positive. Big wishes for a speedy recovery and hope that the chemo isn’t too unpleasant.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your Cosmic book – so clever!

    • Thank you Lisa! I’m so glad you like my book, it was good therapy making it. I reckon the chemo will be what it is and I’ll just have to deal with it. Today the nurse told me ALL the possible side effects (eeek!) so it’s probably not going to be the best experience of my life, but I’m sure I can learn something from it. I doubt I will get all of the side effects so I’ll just have to sort out the ones I do get. I’m going out to look for a fleece Beany at the weekend though because I’ve been told I will almost certainly lose my hair within the first month! Oh what fun! 🙂

  4. It sounds like your smoothie filled with so much great stuff did wonderful work on your tumor. My heart goes out to you. At the risk of sounding fanatical, I would urge you to think twice before undergoing that conventional treatment. It will devastate your entire body. I just read an article this morning about a woman who cured basal cell carcinoma on her head using coconut oil and baking soda, because Cancer cannot survive in an alkaline environment. Please look into taking charge of your own health. Conventional medicine has made great strides and does great things but cancer is big business and there are other ways, as you have seen for yourself. I am not an expert, just a mom who has been slowly opening her eyes to many things. Best of luck either way. I thoroughly enjoy your art. It’s great inspiration and eye candy to go along with my coffee.

    • Thanks for your message, it has not been an easy decision but for now I’ve decided to go with the expert advice. I know who few people who have been through chemo and fully recovered and I’m hoping I can do that too. I am also going to keep up with the smoothies and do all the little things I can to give myself the best advantage. It’s going to be a journey and I’m sure I will learn a great deal from it even if I don’t always enjoy it. Thanks for liking my art too 🙂

Leave a Reply

