Feeling loved and grateful :-)

All is Good

Hello friends

I hope you are all keeping well, happy and enjoying life.

Ever since I got my cancer diagnosis on 17 September my husband, family and close friends have rallied around and given me masses of support and love.  Then when I decided to share the news here, on my Facebook page and in a couple of FB groups I belong to the messages of love, support and positive energy have been almost overwhelming.  I am so grateful to everyone who has taken the time to send me messages and I truly have been feeling the love.  THANK YOU ❤

Of course I am still in limbo as I don’t know what the results of all the tests will be and I am preparing myself for whatever the news is next week, but in the meantime I am feeling just great.  The horrible and disgusting mass in my mouth has (without any treatment) now shrunk and I have very little swelling under my teeth, I feel much more comfortable and I can now eat properly as long as the food is soft and does not require much chewing.  For the past two weeks I’ve been living on my superfood smoothies and soup, but today I get to eat a proper meal, yay!

Today has been a lovely day, sunny and warm and after a late start I spent an hour making up today’s batch of ‘slush’ which contains lots of fresh, organic vegetables and fruit, then I took a stroll down the town and looked in a few shops.  I even bought myself some comfy clothes that will be ideal for just hanging out at home.  I’m guessing there will be quite a lot of just hanging about at home if/when I start the chemo-therapy so why not have comfy clothes to do that in?  Then I popped in to see Mum and Dad, just to check they are doing OK.  I think Mum was the person hit hardest by my health news, but we are all trying to be positive and optimistic now.

Now I’m back home I’m waiting for T to serve up dinner.  It smells very appetizing. Mmmmmm 🙂

I am creating a new journal of warrior women – these are the troops I am rallying around me ready for the battle ahead.  Some will be fierce like the one I shared here and others will be more supportive and gentle, buy they are all going to help me get through this in the months ahead.  The image above is the second spread from this journal and is to remind me that whatever happens and no matter how hard things get everything is always as it should be.

Thank you again to everyone who has contacted me with lovely messages, it has really helped me get over the initial terror and shock of the cancer diagnosis and to ready myself for what lies ahead.

See you soon

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2014 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

7 thoughts on “Feeling loved and grateful :-)

  1. I absolutely love the idea of your Warrior Woman journal and I hope that being creative and focusing on being feisty and positive through the act of creating will help give you strength and succour in your fight against cancer. I am wishing you all the best.

  2. I stumbled across your blog while just perusing, looking for interesting posts. A cancer diagnosis can be devastating, and can leave one reeling. I have been riding the roller coaster for almost a year, and what a strange and wonderful year it has been. So strap yourself in and hang on. Surround yourself with positive people who will support you. And take whatever strength you can from wherever you can find it. Some days, it’s okay to whimper in the corner, as long as you don’t make it a habit! I wish you all the best in your journey.

  3. Good luck on your new challenge, I hope you find solace and strength in your art – we know how powerful journalling, expression and creativity can be to our wellness ❤

  4. Love the idea of your Warrior Woman – but don’t forget what a great help it can also be to journal your fear and doubt too. Getting it out on paper is very therapeutic and nobody can be brave ALL the time ……

  5. Thank you for your wonderful art work and for sharing the richness and colour that reflects your life, it is amazing. Love and positive thoughts for next week. xxxx

  6. I can’t truly know what you are going through; I can only imagine. I am sure there are bleaker times, but what I have seen in you is such grace and strength. I think your warrior women will be amazing and definitely give you what you need – fantastic, intuitive idea.

    Love and light for the journey ahead.

  7. Hello AJ, I’m no doctor but for what it’s worth, you may like to read up on an alkaline diet – you may have heard of it already because your smoothies sound great! I love your drawings thank you so much for sharing them!!! With your inspirational quotes they’re just perfect to view before starting the day! Wishing you a speedy and painless recovery! Hugs, Bela

Leave a Reply

