Learning the art of patience.

Patience is not simply the ability to wait – it’s how we behave while we’re waiting.

Cosmic mapsHello friends

I hope all is good with you.

Today didn’t go exactly as I had prepared for.  I had an appointment with a consultant at the hospital and I was expecting to be told the specifics of my cancer diagnosis and, more importantly for me, the treatment plan, but it didn’t work out like that.

The results of the CT scan I had on Friday were not available and the blood samples I had taken last week now have to be sent to another hospital for more rigorous testing. This means that my case will not be discussed at the Multi-Disciplinary team meeting tomorrow so no treatment plan will be drawn up this week.  IF everything can be sorted out by Friday of this week then I can be discussed as the MDT meeting next Tuesday so I now have an appointment to see the consultant again on Wednesday 7 October.

I have to be honest I felt a bit let down.  I do understand that the treatment has to be specific to the type and stage of my cancer and a few more days delay won’t affect the outcome, but I, of course, am anxious to get this show on the road and to start fighting…

Still there is good news – I am still feeling well and the tumour doesn’t feel quite so uncomfortable now.  On top of that over the past few days I have become an expert in making fruit and veg smoothies and in cooking up batches of soup.  This probably doesn’t sound a big deal to you but it’s a whole new world to me.

Anyway it’s all out of my hands so I am just going to have to be patient for a while longer.

The image above is from a little book I have been working on that I am calling The Little Book of Cosmic Maps.

See you soon

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

 

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2014 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

9 thoughts on “Learning the art of patience.

  1. Yes, waiting is terrible. But keep positive and keep making the soups and smoothies. They will do you the world of good! And don’t forget to think about what you say when you talk to yourself! xx

  2. Aj – I have missed some posts! I am so sorry to hear of your diagnosis – and the delay in getting to treatment – which must be devastating to you in the moment. However, everything happens for a reason and I know of so many cancer patients who have done amazing things with their health through diet that maybe this does give you a chance to get good at what you are doing in the kitchen 🙂 Diet and our beliefs play a significant and vital role in all our issues of health – I am sending you much courage and strength and self-belief – with love!!

  3. Dear Janette, I’ve been loving seeing your work on the Artstronauts and very much enjoyed a rummage around your blog today! I’ve got a chronic degenerative illness so can understand something of what you’re experiencing even if I don’t have cancer. I use my journals as therapy to work through my responses physical, spiritual and emotional, and am guessing you do the same. I really love your work and have added you to my own blog roll (atcexchange.blogspot.com). Sending you strong positive vibes and virtual hugs.

  4. Hi Jan I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the hospital appointment this week, but I’m sure they are doing their best and checking it all thorough. At least you can get some good food inside. I have told all my sisters and they are all checking to see how things are going and send all their love and best wishes. JennyK

  5. Juicing is divine…I’ve had to delete even fruit sugar this year so have been doing kale juice with lemon…I’m glad you’re feeling well and wishing you a powerful healing journey

  6. Dear Janette, my faithful friend. I, too, missed some posts, so I had no idea of the battle you are engaged in. I have added you to my daily prayer list, and am storming Heaven’s gates on your behalf. Thank you for keeping us updated and for continuing to share art.

Leave a Reply

