Welcome to the House of Fun!

Welcome to the House of Fun

Hello friends!

I hope you are doing well, things are pretty good here.  The new kitchen arrived yesterday! It has completely filled up T’s room and part of the living room and kitchen.  There is a lot of it!  Now we just have to figure out how it all goes together – it should be fun (she said)!

So far we have checked the delivery and found just a couple of things missing and a couple of things that we didn’t order have been delivered.

Yesterday afternoon I had to go to the library immediately after the kitchen was delivered as Ryde Social Heritage Group had an Archive day there, apparently it was really busy in the morning.  By the time I go there (early afternoon) it had quietened down a bit although there was a steady stream of people right up until we had to pack everything away at 4pm.

When I got home I built the shell of the first cupboard which all went very well (phew!), it still needs legs and doors fixing to it then there are another 10 cupboards to build and worktops and all those other bits and pieces to fix.    We both have the first two weeks of March as leave from work and are hoping to get most it done then, but I think it will be several months before it’s completely finished.

We have been doing quite a lot of preparation work prior to the delivery and the kitchen is now a complete mess, I’m not really sure how T is coping, he hates mess and clutter and as he spends more time in the kitchen than I do he must be finding it difficult.  He will want to get it finished as soon as possible.

Today we took Mum and Dad out for lunch to celebrate Mum’s birthday, which was actually on Friday, and we had a lovely time together.

I am really loving Teesha and Tracy Moore’s Artstonauts Club, there is so much to inspire and motivate me with my art there.  If you would like to know more about the Artstonauts Club there is an open FaceBook group here and from there you can click on a link that will take you to the Artstonauts Club website with all the amazing goodies.  You have to be a member to have access to the website, but it’s very reasonably priced.

I made one of Teesha’s ‘Amazing 16 page journals‘ from one sheet of watercolour paper.  I have almost completed all the collaging on all the pages, except for the covers which I always leave until the very end, and I’ve started playing with pens.  The page above is the first completed page.  The title “Welcome to the House of Fun” is probably apt for the stuff that’s going to be happening in my home over the next few weeks (or possibly months).

Here is some fabulous news: I am going to be facilitating another Teesha inspired Introduction to Visual Journaling workshop at Ventnor Library on Saturday 29 March.  It will be the same as the workshop I did for Ryde Arts Festival almost a year ago, you can read about that workshop here and you can see the book we produced here.  This time we are not making a book (just the first pages for our personal journals) so participants will be able to take away their artwork at the end of the day.  The workshop is being hosted by the Friends of Ventnor Library and there is a very small charge (only £2.50!) for participants. It is a whole day workshop from 09:30 to 16:00 with a break for lunch.  The workshop is for a maximum of 12 people (adults only) so if you are interested please contact Ventnor Library on 01983 852039.

Right, now I have a stack of ironing to do so I am ready for work tomorrow.  I’ll try and post again mid week but if I go missing in action for a while you’ll know I am busy with our DIY project.

Thanks for visiting it’s been a pleasure to have you here.

Big love

AJ 🙂

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2014 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the House of Fun!

Leave a Reply

