I’m an Artstonaut!

 

Mandala 3Hello friends

I hope all is good with you, I am feeling much better than when I last posted.  I knew that if I just waited patiently my good mood would return 🙂

I’ve had a long weekend although it still seems to have flown by really fast.  I took the day off work on Friday as I had a funeral to attend in the morning and a meeting for the local history group in the afternoon.   The funeral was for a member of the group who passed away on 10 November.  Ralph was 91 and was a really delightful man.  The last time I saw him was in October when he gave a talk at one of our meetings.  He was cheerful and funny and seemed to be in good health, so it was a shock to hear that he had died.  The funeral was a touching tribute to a man who was clearly loved by many.

On Saturday T and I went to get a quote for the cabinets and fittings we will need for our kitchen.  Fortunately we can just about afford to buy the stuff and if we buy it between Christmas and New Year we should get it at a reduced price.  We have had to change our plans several times but we are near to finalising it now and I it’s going to look good once it’s done.  I still think it would be better to wait until warmer weather to start installing it but T is anxious to get it done, which is understandable seeing as how he has waited almost 20 years.  So I can see that we will be doing it in the depths of Winter!  He is already planning what things need to be done first.  We have to get a plumber in to move some pipework and we somehow have to box in some other pipework but we are not sure how we are going to do that at the moment.

Today I had some time to work in my altered book art journal and I am excited about the page I am creating.  I recently joined Teesha Moore‘s Artstonauts Club and it has inspired me to create a page unlike anything I have done before.  It’s a work in progress so I can’t share it with you just yet.

If you have been reading my blog for any time you will know that Teesha has inspired me more than any other artist, in fact it’s because of her that I first started to art journal so I am super excited to be a member of her Artstonauts Club.

Oops, I just realised that while I was playing in my art journal today I really should have been making Christmas presents!  I must try to stay more focused! 

Above is another page from my Mandala book, nicer colours than the first two in this book I think.

Have a good week and I’ll see you soon.

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2013 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

4 thoughts on “I’m an Artstonaut!

  1. That’s a lovely mandala AJ. I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with from your Artstonaut Club. 🙂 Teesha’s work is amazing! She is another of those artists that I so admire and hope to be like when I grow up 🙂 I shall follow that link when I finish writing this comment.

    Now this is going to sound strange at first – but stick with me … Reading your post about the death of your elderly friend was quite wonderful. To be in your nineties, giving a talk to other history buffs, in good health and good humour and to pass over loved by many are all the signs of a life well lived! I hope I would be so fortunate! I also hope his funeral was a celebration of a life well lived…..

    Good luck with those Christmas presents – I just finished mine [smirk] and now just have a birthday gift to see to – youngest daughters is 2 days before Christmas – very bad planning on my part!

    Have a good week xoxo

    • Thanks for your comment Pauline, You are right Ralph had a good life and a quick end which was good for him I think, just a shock for everyone else. He will live on in memories though 🙂 I’ve still got a mountain to climb on the Christmas present front. Hopefully I’ll get them all done in time. Hope all is good with you. Big love from me 🙂

  2. Loving your mandalas, AJ. Have you considered having some made into rubber stamps? Hope your dad is still doing well, and your mum too. Good luck with all the plumbing works. We have only just had the scaffolding removed after all our works and there is still some painting to be done inside the house. I dream of being done in time for Christmas!

    • Thanks Janice, yes I’ve thought of doing all sorts of stuff with my artworks but I just never get the time, the day job gets in the way and I am also very committed to the local history group. I am really not looking forward to the kitchen refurb, well I’m looking forward to it being finished but not all the disruption and the inevitable problems we will encounter, still it’s got to be done. It will be fantastic if you get all your work done before Christmas, then you can relax and just have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

