Being Human

Being Human

 

Hello friends

Good News!  Dr Amy Johnson‘s new book Being Human is now available in paperback from Amazon.com and Amazon UK and above is the image I created for the cover.

I had a message from Amy the other day she was upset because all along we had both thought that the images (8 pages) I created to illustrate the inside of the book would be printed in colour.  Then at the last minute the printer, having produced a full colour proof for Amy to look at, informed her that if she wanted the 8 images in colour she would have to pay to have the whole book (of 272 pages) printed in colour.  This would have trebled the price!

Amy had a sleepless night worrying about this and then made the right decision and told the printer to print the cover in colour and the inside in black and white.  She thought I would be disappointed and I guess I was a little at first, but the truth is the images are just a tiny part of a really great book, and are not really that important. I feel truly honoured to be part of it and of course the book has to be affordable or people won’t buy it.  It’s the words Amy wrote that count not my funny pictures.

You can see all the pages in full colour on this blog, if you search for Being Human, and the Kindle edition out later this month will also have the images in colour.

The more I have thought about this the more I am looking forward to getting my copy of the paperback and seeing how my artwork looks in monotone, who knows this could be the start of a new venture for me.  Perhaps the beginning of my ‘black & white’ period 🙂 – (By the way I don’t really think that’s likely).

Anyway, I am going to recommend you buy this book and not because some of my artwork is in it but because it’s a really good book.  Amy Johnson is lovely and wise and her style of writing is easy to read.  It’s like having a casual conversation with a friend but the messages being delivered, almost without you realising it, are powerful and life-changing.

BUT if you are a member of my family then DON’T buy it because I’ll be giving you a copy for Christmas 🙂

Have a good week everyone and I’ll see you soon.

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

 

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2013 unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

One thought on “Being Human

  1. There’s always a reason – there’s always something happening – how exciting, I wonder where it will lead you 🙂 Congrats on being a published artist any way – I am sure your work will look great. Love the cover!

Leave a Reply

