No One is Truly Mean

No One is Truly Mean

Hello friends!

I hope you have had a great weekend, mine has been busy and interesting.

On Friday evening T and I went to see Alexi Sayle at the local art centre.  Normally Alexi is a stand up comedian, but for this event he was doing a book reading.  He was still funny and we both enjoyed the event.

Yesterday I did some voluntary work in the cemetery, I was cutting turf from around the kerbs of graves so my friend could record the inscriptions.  We did that for a couple of hours and it was a pleasant way to spend the morning.  Then I had a short walk into town to do some shopping and spent the rest of the afternoon working with a couple of friends in the Learning Centre in the Cemetery on Ryde Social Heritage Group‘s next project.  As soon as one thing ends we have to start work on another. 🙂

Yesterday evening T and I spent a lovely time together, we had a nice meal and then sat up late watching films and talking.  Unusually for me I stayed up very late and as a consequence today has been a bit of a wash-out.  We both slept in late and have had a slow day.  I did manage to get out to visit my parents this afternoon as it is their 63rd wedding anniversary today.  Heard some good news, that my brother who lives in France will be visiting for a short time in October.  That will be lovely for Mum and Dad.

The page above is the third illustration I did for Dr Amy Johnson‘s book Being Human.  I am working really hard to try and absorb this message, which in my heart of hearts I know is true. There are two people in my life who I find to be really mean and obnoxious and occasionally I have to deal with them face to face.  I find it difficult and up until now I don’t think I have handled the situation well. I am working on being kinder, more compassionate and more understanding of them and of myself.

Have a great week

Big love

AJ 🙂

COPYRIGHT

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2013, unless otherwise stated. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
7 thoughts on “No One is Truly Mean

  1. Hello!

    Thank you for your artwork. It is wonderful. I’ve been writing in my journal and I am an artist and was wondering if you have a post on what materials you use to create your posters as you have inspired me to try some different techniques.

    : )

      Thank You! Sal Costello Creative Director CostelloandCompany.com

    ________________________________

    • Hi Sal, thanks for your message, I don’t think I have done a post on what materials I use,but it’s collage and pen-work for this type of page (mixed media for others). The best recommendation I can give you is to Google search Teesha Moore, she is my inspiration for the collage pages and I was lucky to attend a workshop she taught a year ago. She has some tutorials on YouTube which take you through the whole process of making journals, creating collage, pen-work and lettering. If you like my art you will LOVE Teesha’s, she is just the best 🙂

  2. Been looking back through your posts over the last three weeks, AJ. Congratulations on being asked to do the artwork for this book. The book itself sounds interesting – not showing up on Amazon yet. But I LOVE what you’ve done with it. And great that focusing so deeply on some of these quotes has been a personal journey for you too. Looking forward to seeing more. x

    • Hi Janice, the book is not published yet, I think it comes out in America in November, hopefully we will be able to get it in the UK through Amazon. As soon as I get any news I’ll post a message on my blog

Leave a Reply

