You are a divine being…

You are a divine being

 

Hello friends!

It’s mid week and it’s muggy, we have had a little bit of rain, but really what we need is a fantastic electric storm to clear the air and then more sunshine.   Well that’s what I’d like anyway.  My head has been feeling fuzzy for the past couple of days and I am sure it has something to do with air pressure and atmospherics.

So this week I have been working on my secret project and I’m having LOTS of fun.  One day I will show you the results 🙂  I’ve also been researching and writing up display sheets for the history group about the town’s photographers from the mid 1800s, which is very interesting and I’m still doing the boring day job 🙂

Researching the photographers made me think that I really need to try and get back into photography again, I have two digital cameras which I use often and they are OK.  The good thing about digital is that you can take lots of photos and just delete the ones you don’t like and there are no processing costs, but, to me, there is something almost lifeless about the digital photos.

My BIG love is using film and my lovely Lomography LCA camera, it’s the perfect camera for me.  I love the way it sits in the palm of my hand and I love the way it vignettes the images.  The problem with analogue photography though is that it’s getting harder and more expensive to get the film developed these days.  My favourite process is to use slide film and get it developed as normal negative film.  This process (known as cross-processing) messes with the colours in a way that gives fantastic results.  Different films give different results.  Unfortunately many of the companies that are still developing film react in horror when I ask them to process the film with the ‘wrong’ chemicals and those that agree to do it charge a ridiculous, and unnecessary, premium for doing so.

Here is an example of a cross-processed image, so you can see what I mean about the colours – super saturated.

Waltzer

The page above is another from my fourth Teesha Moore inspired journal and the quote is from the late, great Terrence McKenna.  If you don’t know who T McKenna was then you are clearly not of my generation, or if you are around the same age as me but you still don’t know who he was, then your life took a completely different path to mine. 😉

Have a good week and I’ll see you soon.

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

COPYRIGHT

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “You are a divine being…

  1. Neat page. I love the quote. I miss film processing, too, but I don’t think I could ever go back (I also use the “take-a-bunch-of-pictures-to-get-one-good-one” technique that digital offers.

Leave a Reply

