The Universe Says…

The Universe says...

 

Hello friends

I hope all is cool with you.  We are having a tropical heatwave!  This weather reminds me so much of Sunny Tobago (which is probably my favourite place in the world).  Oh how I’d love to be “Limin’ wid de locals at Castara Village” right now.  In case you don’t know “Limin'” is the national past time on Tobago and it means hanging out and chatting. Tobagians are the friendliest people I’ve met they are so chilled, even though the temperature rarely drops below 20 degrees C.

Gosh what a busy week I’ve had!

On Tuesday I went up to London with three friends from Ryde Social Heritage Group to attend the annual conference of Community Archives & Heritage Group at University College London on Wednesday.  We had a great couple of days and the conference gave us the opportunity to meet with other local historians and professional archivists.  I even felt relaxed and happy giving my 10 minute presentation about the RSHG.  A big part of the conference was the presentation of awards and Ryde Social Heritage Group received an award for “Most Inspirational Community Archive”. We are so happy and proud that our little local group has been given this national award.

We didn’t get back from London until late on Wednesday night and then it was back to work for me on Thursday and Friday.  No-one does my work while I’m away so I had to try and cram in 4 days worth of work into 2 days.  I was only partially successful but as I made a decision a while ago that I was not going to allow work to stress me out at going home time on Friday I just switched off (computer and work head) and came home.

On Friday evening I had to prepare a presentation to give at Ryde Social Heritage Group’s quarterly meeting.

On Saturday we had the quarterly meeting and it was my pleasure to report to the members that we had received a national award for being Inspirational.  After the business of the meeting we had a fascinating talk by a guest speaker on Life in Roman Britain. Afterwards most of the committee went out for lunch but I had other things to do so couldn’t join them.  I hear they had a great time though.

Also this week I have started work on an exciting project which I won’t be able to tell you about until after the summer.  It is going to be fun and rewarding for me though :-)

The page above is another from my fourth Teesha inspired journal.  I don’t really like the lettering on this page, but I do like the colours and the words.

I hope you all have a great week.

Big love

AJ :-)

COPYRIGHT

© Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Janette Gregson and ajsartjournal with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

6 thoughts on “The Universe Says…

  1. Congratulations on the award, AJ. Was this ‘most inspired community archive’ the personal ‘scrapbook shrines’ that were on display in the Depozitory? They were lovely.
    Tell me – is the Ryde Social heritage Group aimed at people interested generally in social heritage, or is it focused specifically on Ryde / IOW social heritage? I’m a keen family historian, and am researching the social conditions of my ancestors – including preserving and presenting the old photos – but my history is not on the IOW.

    • Hi Janice, no the award was not to do with the Family History Shrines but our educational material and work with schools. RSHG is really aimed at people with an interest in the history of Ryde. We will have St Thomas Church open for Heritage Open Days (2 days in September), why not come along and meet the team. Nearly everyone in the group has done their own family history research and they are not all from the Island. 🙂

  2. The art on this page is breath taking. I could look at the colors and contemplate these words for hours. Is it possible to purchase any of your artwork?

Leave a Reply

