I need some ME time!

Lose our Fear of being wrong

 

Hello friends

The local Arts Festival starts this Friday and it’s been a hectic few weeks for me.

I did the workshops at The Foyer, 4 evening workshops over 4 weeks.  It doesn’t sound like  a lot of time, but besides the actual evenings I was preparing stuff for the class in my free time.  Apart from one of the participants the few other people who attended seemed to be lacking in ideas or confidence to try things and I found it really hard to motivate and inspire them.  I am so out of touch with the younger generation.  But finally we got just enough matchboxes finished to go into the exhibition, it was fun but hard work.

I also did a workshop with my friends from Ryde Social Heritage Group and we made Family History Shrines.  To do the one day workshop took me several days preparation. The participants in this workshop were much more engaged, creative  and easy to work with.  I just needed to take them through the steps in creating the shrines and they threw themselves into it with enthusiasm.  That was really a lot of fun.  We have 10 lovely shrines in the exhibition.

I’ve also been finishing off the Art Journal book we made at my very first workshop in April and that too is in the exhibition.  I failed at creating the ebook but I think I have succeeded in making the book into a video.  I am going to try and post it on YouTube next week.

The Ryde Arts Festival website is finally up and running (a bit late!) and along with a couple of friends I have been trying to keep it updated with information.

On top of that I have had to prepare a speech and presentation I am giving at a conference in London early in July.

Finally things are all coming together and I am feeling relieved.  Starting on Friday evening when the Arts Festival Opens it’s going to be a busy week, but I am looking forward to seeing all the various forms of art and listening to the music that is being created for the event.

I just occurred to me the other day that for the last few weeks I haven’t really done much creative activity just for myself and I am really beginning to miss it.  I need to somehow find some ME time and get back in to the Flow of just creating in my journals for the sheer joy of it.

Fortunately I have plenty of art that I did previously but haven’t shared with you so I’m not going to run out of things to post any time soon 🙂

The page above is from my 6×6 board book journal on Circles of Wisdom.  That quote totally resonates with me and I am pleased to say I am becoming a much more confident and contented person and artist.  It no longer bothers me if the art I create is not brilliant or appreciated by others because I realise that just being creative is more important than the end result.

I hope you all have a great week and I’ll see you soon.

Big love

AJ 🙂

3 thoughts on “I need some ME time!

  1. Yeah, some people are more enthusiastic and engaging than others. And being busy can certainly get away of much needed ME time. I’m sure there will be more room for it soon.

    This is one of my favorite mandalas of yours, BTW. Cool background and crispy design.

    I also agree with the statement you mentioned that being creative is more important than the end result. Reminds me that the process of creating poetry can be frustrating, since I expect the flow to go in a certain direction, but often ends up deviating. The words don’t always flow gracefully, but I could go with the current instead of against it, which may still take me somewhere unexpected, yet satisfying.

Leave a Reply

