AJ the Mermaid Clown!

AJ the Mermaid ClownHello friends!

It’s been a while since I posted on my blog, my only excuse is that if I thought I was busy before the last couple of weeks have been mental!

The Mermaid Circus online workshop with Teesha Moore and Jane Davenport is quite sensational, but I’m struggling to keep up with it all.  In the first two weeks we were tasked with making a shaped book and filling it with mermaids and sea creatures with a circus theme.  This was a huge challenge to me because I have absolutely NO interest in Mermaids 🙂  However I have made my book and so far I have populated it with three performing mermaids and the Ring Master who is an octopus.  There are still at least 6 mermaids or sea creatures to create and the cover to do (I will leave the cover till last).

I decided to include myself in the book.  I have a photograph that I took of my face from underwater when I was snorkeling in Tobago and I was going to use that, but it didn’t work.  So I ended up painting the face based on that photo.  Of course it looks nothing like me so I decided to turn myself into a Mermaid Clown and also to give myslf long flowing red hair!

I’m a bit stuck with the shaped book now because the next challenge is to draw a face, copy it and collage it into the next piece.  I’m not very good at drawing so I’ve been doing lots of practice.  I think I’m improving, here is my first attempt and a later one.

first attemptGirl with roses in her hair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think it’s going to take a bit more practice before I’m really ready to use a face I’ve drawn in my book though. So far I have had about 12 attempts so I reckon if I do another 88 and I might be there 🙂

On top of the Mermaid Circus I also did my very first Art Journaling workshop last Saturday, and it went REALLY well I had a great day with an amazing group of people.  I did loads and loads of preparation and that really paid off. We created journal pages in the style of Teesha Moore – collage and penwork – and everyone completed one page, a couple of people managed two!.  All the pages will be temporarily bound into a book that will go on display during Ryde Arts Festival 27 June – 7 July.  After the festival all the participants will get their art work back and I am also hoping to turn it into an e-book which I will post on my blog.  I was so impressed with the work everyone did.  We had a lot of fun.  Here is a picture of the group hard at work  on the collage elements:

Art Journaling workshop

 

I am hoping to do another workshop with a group of my friends very soon to create something a little different, and I’ve also been asked to give the same workshop as i did last Saturday to a group of young people who live in sheltered accommodation in the town, I’m going to talk to the manager about that next week.

So that’s pretty much all my news, the weather has been lovely this past week too which is an added bonus.

Now I just have to catch up with all the other stuff that I’ve been falling behind with while I’ve been concentrating on the above.

Have a good week everyone and I’ll see you soon.

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “AJ the Mermaid Clown!

  1. I am so pleased your art journal workshop went well, everyone looks really engrossed! Your mermaid book looks really good and I think your faces are great! Sam x

  2. Hello,
    I’ve been making a few comments on your posts and feel I should introduce myself since I will be following your blog. My name is Sara and my business name is “the Creative Soul”. I have an etsy shop where I sell my one of kind pieces of handmade jewelry created using a combination of antique, vintage and modern day supplies.(I also sell some pieces at a local store and my favorite way to sell is at art and craft fairs where I can meet and talk with people). But, I also love mixed media art and have recently taken a vacation from jewelry making to get back to this. I am starting with creating an altered book “All About Women” done in art journal style. It’s been quite a while since I did much with my art…my beginnings of my creative business. I have so much to learn and that is why I am trolling people’s blogs who have tagged ‘art journal’ to see their styles, techniques, etc hoping to learn more. Also looking all through Pinterest. I am really enjoying your journal pages and adore this shape book you have been creating! This mermaid shown here is wonderful! It is good for us to be challenged for that is how we grow. I am sharing my journey of growth through this altered book, and hopefully soon an eclectic art journal, on my blog. I think you can find it by clicking on my artsychick picture. Peace to your heart

  3. Pingback: Welcome to the House of Fun! | AJ's Art Journaling

Leave a Reply

