How Sweet the Moonlight

How Sweet the Moonlight

Hello friends

I hope you are having a great weekend, it’s sunny Sunday here in my part of the world and tomorrow is a bank holiday – yay!

This spread is from my 6 x 6 journal, I started by covering the pages with scraps of paper and ephemera, then added paint and inks.  The swirly stamp is one I got free with a magazine.  I did some embossing and added the quote which is from the Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare.  Shakespeare is supposed to be England’s finest writer, but unfortunately I was turned off him when I was at school.  We had to study Julius Caesar for an examination and the teacher got us to read some parts of it out loud in class.  I remember her shouting at me “Say it with feeling!”.  The trouble was I had no idea what I was reading, it was like a foreign language to me.  I think maybe a bit of instruction and explanation would have helped, shouting at me certainly didn’t!

I am going to try and keep up with my blog over the next couple of weeks, but Heritage Open Days starts on 6 September and there are still many things to sort out, so I may have to take a bit of time out.  We can get into the venue, an old church, next Saturday morning and then we have 5 days to clean and tidy the place up, transport and set up a huge exhibition ready for the opening at 11am on Thursday 6 September.  It’s going to be great but it is also going to be a lot of hard work.

If I disappear for a while please understand, I will still be trying to do bits and pieces of art when I can.

Big love

AJ 🙂

4 thoughts on “How Sweet the Moonlight

  1. Love the page, especially the purple and swirlies. I love Shakespeare, but was fortunate to see some live plays, which helped.
    Thanks for letting us know how busy youare. Do what you can, when you can, We’ll see you on the other side!

  2. Beautiful page, the colour is so deep and purple is my fave colour! You sound like you are going to be really busy…good luck, hope it all goes well x

Leave a Reply

