Be Inventive

Invent

Hello friends

Hope everyone is well.  It’s still sunny here but not so warm now, but still better than cold and rain 🙂

I have found out that my role at work will cease to exist in a very short time, probably in a few days time.  I will still be employed but I don’t know what I will be doing.  I have decided to see that is an opportunity, because I think I could do with a change – a new challenge.  Hopefully something good will come out of this.

Today I drove Mum and Dad over to the airport again in the hopes of getting Dad his second flight in a glider but it was too windy so the flights had been cancelled.  They have told him to try again on Wednesday, but he will have to get the bus, unless my brother is free, because I am at work on Wednesday.

I have loads of stuff to prepare for the history group‘s next event in September.  We will be celebrating our 10th anniversary with a huge exhibition over 4 days (September 6 -9) at St Thomas Heritage Centre.  Yesterday I volunteered to write up 30 display sheets on the history of the group, I’ve managed 6 sheets today, but they still need to be checked for accuracy.  I think I started with the easy ones so this is likely to get harder.  I also have a wooden box to alter so we can display artefacts in it and lots of greeting cards to design and print so we can sell them and make some money.  I expect I will get it all done eventually as long as I keep plodding away at it.

The spread above is from my 6×6 journal, you may not be able to read the quote, I wrote it on brown parcel paper and then used distress ink but I wasn’t expecting it to be so dark.  It says “To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk”  Thomas Eddison.  Well I certainly have plenty of junk so let’s hope I have a good imagination too 😉  On this spread is my first really successful image transfer, the machine on the left of the spread, I also collaged images from an old motorcycle magazine, a couple of images found on the internet (bottle of Brain Salt and the man with the weird rollerskates), there is some home made tape on the edges, and I stuck my little ‘pile of junk’ on with glossy accents.

Oh, I almost forgot, the Olympics!  I’m not really into sport or big national/international events, but I thought, as it’s happening in London, may be I should try and show some interest in the opening ceremony, it’s probably a once in a lifetime opportunity for me.  When I started watching, about an hour into the ceremony I think, there was a lot of music, dancing and some strange graphics, I didn’t really understand what was going on.  Then the athletes started to process into the arena.

I need to explain to you that I rarely watch television, I used to love watching films but in recent years I have always fallen asleep before the end of the  film so I don’t even do that anymore.  Watching the Opening Ceremony of the Olympics I’m sorry to say I got bored, and when I realised we had still only got to the beginning of ‘D’ and there was the rest of the alphabet to go through, I gave up and went to bed.  I think I would have liked the fireworks but they were on far too late for me.

If you watched it I hope you enjoyed it, I have heard mixed reviews on it from others.

See you soon

Big love

AJ 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Be Inventive

Leave a Reply

