Sometimes you just have to go with it!

Doing your best!Hello friends!

It’s another wet weekend in the UK!  Oh well don’t have to feel guilty about staying in all day doing art 🙂

This page almost didn’t make it to the blog, because I’m really not that happy with it.  I was tempted to just paint over it with gesso and start again, but I spent so much time getting it to this sorry state it probably deserves to be just as it is.  I always try to do the best I can, but I’m not a perfectionist, I reckon if that’s the best I can do at this time then I should be satisfied.  It’s a bit of a struggle with this page because it’s ugly, but I hope it might grow on me.

There are so many layers I couldn’t even begin to tell you the whole process, but the page includes textured gesso, acrylic paint, stamping, acrylic ink, lots of torn paper (of course),tissue paper, holographic paper and rub on lacey bits.  I bought some small letter dies to cut the letters from holographic paper for the quote.  The dies were cheap, and unfortunately they don’t really work in the Big Shot, so I had to improvise and add layers of card until eventually the letters punched out.  The words ‘Best’ and ‘Moment’ are stamped with some vintage letter stamps that were being thrown out at work, there is not a full alphabet but I didn’t realise until I tried to find the N so I had to use Z on its side!  I stamped with Perfect Medium and used black embossing powder.

Because of the way the light from the scanner reflects on the holographic paper you may not be able to read the quote, it says: Doing your Best in this moment, puts you in the best place for the next MOMENT.

That’s all for now, hope you are all enjoying your weekend, next time I will post something that I think is prettier.

Big love

AJ 🙂

7 thoughts on “Sometimes you just have to go with it!

  1. Now then my lovely friend. I am seeing this through my eyes and think it’s amazing. So pleased you are not going to paint over it. Maybe if you put it to one side and looked at it again at a later date it will mean more to you. Love the sentiment. I popped over, in my arm chair, to Paris today to watch the tennis. I wish I had gone crafting instead!
    Regards Florence x

  2. I like your page- but I can relate to your feelings about it. I just added metallic paints to a canvas I haven’t liked. I am at least happier with the direction it is going. Actually, as I look at it now it goes along with your quote. The “ugly” colors below it are interacting with the metallics I added and the ugly ones actually add quite a bit to it now. Crazy how it all starts to work out…

Leave a Reply

