Glow

GlowHello friends

I hope everyone is well and happy 🙂

Well it’s mid week and I’m still struggling to find time to do my ever growing list of ‘things to do’, know how it is…

My dad is recovering well from his operation now, he’s pretty tough for someone who is going to be 90 this year.  Yesterday, my eldest brother, his wife, Tony and I took Mum and Dad out for a meal to celebrate mum’s 80th birthday.  We had a lovely time.  This weekend my other brother and his family are coming over from France to see us all.  It will be a short visit but nevertheless a treat for Mum and Dad.

The page above is from my A4 journal and is a page I did for Rachel Whetzel‘s workshop ‘Silent Messages’ in last year’s 21 Secrets.  Rachel recommended using Creative Paperclay to add texture to a page.  I couldn’t find any in the local shops so I used Fimo Air Light, I think it worked about the same.  You smooth a thin layer of the clay onto a wet page of your journal so it sticks to the paper and then make impressions in the clay.  When it’s dry you paint over the whole thing with gesso and then just treat it like a normal journal page.  I put the clay onto the page without thinking about what I could use to make impressions.  I was stumped for a while so I just grabbed a round, wooden carved pot from my desk and rolled that over the wet clay.  When it was dry and gesso’d I used acrylic paints, scrap book paper and printed tissue paper to add layers.  I finished the page with gold Rub ‘n’ Buff on some of the edges and stamped the word glow with gold metalic acrylic paint.

When the clay dries it does warp the page quite a bit.  That might bother some people but I like it.

You can find out about this year’s 21 Secrets here.  It’s a great place to get inspiration 🙂

That’s all for now, catcha later

Big love

AJ

8 thoughts on “Glow

    • Hi Trece, yes I am, I joined the party late last year so only had time to do a few workshops, but I’m already signed up for this year so I’ll be there from day. I’m excited too there are some fantastic teachers again this year.
      Big love
      AJ

  1. I have never tried it with paperclay- what a genius idea- the way it all just blends and you can’t tell exactly where it starts or stops. This is a fabulous page!!!! Looking forward to 21 secrets too. Just a little over a month to go.

  2. I’ve been touring around your blog, and I’m really enjoying it. I have to say I am really loving your color combinations. I tend to get nervous with more than 2 layers or combinations of color on the page – worried that the end product will be too busy or haphazard – it’s something I have to work on; but your pages are a delight!

    • Thanks for your lovely comments Elizabeth they are so encouraging. To be honest I have no idea what I am doing so I just play, sometimes things work out other times not, but it’s OK it’s all a learning process so experiments are good. If I create a total flop what’s the harm done? No-one has to see it and I’ve learnt from it. Sometimes I’ve posted pages that I haven’t liked at all but I have had positive feedback so that’s a learning process too and I have realised that we can be too critical of ourselves. Enjoy playing in your journal.
      Big love
      AJ

  3. Your page is wonderful, i love the colour combinations and the texture, it makes me want to touch it! I will have to check out this 21 secrets, it sounds good. x

Leave a Reply

