Revo-lution 2012 – Abundance

Abundance

Hello Friends!

I hope everyone is well and happy.

I’m sorry I missed my mid-week posting this week, mainly due to the fact that on the day I would have posted my dad wasn’t well and I had to help mum. Fortunately things are improving so I should get back on track again now.

This spread is from my 2012 Revo-lution book and follows on from the last spread about Gratitude.  I love the scratchiness of the page and I love the quote by Wayne Dyer.  We live in a world where we are constantly bombarded by advertising telling us of all the things we should have to make our lives better.  But the reality is we don’t need lots of things to make our lives full.

Through much of the 1990s my husband was very ill.  His Bipolar Disorder was out of control until he finally got a correct diagnosis and treatment that helped instead of aggravated the problem.  In 1999 we took a much needed holiday to the beautiful Island of Sunny Tobago.  The choice of Tobago was really random but, as it turned out, could not have been better.  We have come to love this tropical paradise and more especially the people who live there.  In February 2007 we got married there on top of Mount Dillon.  There were six of us at the wedding, The Minister, our friend Paul, Horace and Susan Jackson (two local friends), Tony and me.  Tony wore shorts & a tee-shirt and I wore a Sarong.  To my great surprise (as,to be honest, I really couldn’t see the point of getting married after 34 years of living together) it was a magical day.

Me and MarlonThe very first time we visited the island we met Marlon, a rastafarian.  He climbed up a tree, picked a coconut, cut off the top and gave us the coconut water to drink, it was delicious.  Then we sat and talked for an hour or so (this is known as liming in Tobago and is a very important part of their culture).  He spoke in very lyrical rhyming patois which was difficult to understand at times.  It was clear that he was not a rich man, he lived in a simple wooden house and got work when he could, but for him life was good.  He said “Da sun shine ev’ry day, I have roof over me head, dere’s fish in da sea and fruit on da trees.  What more a man need?  Evr’y t’ing is cool.”  Marlon was totally tuned in to the abundance of his life.  I often look at this photo and think “Yeah right mon – ev’ry t’ing is cool!  We have more than enough, life is good”

Have a good day you all and I’ll be back (hopefully) mid week.

Big love

AJ

2 thoughts on “Revo-lution 2012 – Abundance

  1. Beautiful page, I love your layers of colour. I agree with your sentiments about advertising. I consider myself rich because I have a wonderful family, happy healthy children and know that I am loved and give love…money wise…we dont have any!!!!!
    The photo is wonderful and the story of your wedding sounds beautiful. Sam x

  2. Glad to hear your dad is doing better. What a wonderful story of your wedding day- the island sounds magical. Your quote is so very true and I needed it today- I have several commitments that represent abundance in my life and I need to appreciate that abundance instead of another, more common way of looking at it.

Leave a Reply

