Revo-lution 2012 – Change

Hello Friends

I hope everyone is well and enjoying the new year.

First of all I apologise because I have not been replying to comments on my blog, which I think is very rude and I hope you will forgive me.  My only excuse is that things have been very busy.

My dad went into hospital on Friday for what the doctor described as a minor operation.  It was to remove a lump about the size of a tennis ball from the side of his face and neck.  We already knew that the lump was benign but it was beginning to affect his swallow.  There were some risks in him having the op.  Dad is nearly 90.  The doctor assured us that if all went well he would stay in hospital one night and then come home the next day.

The op was done in a hospital in Portsmouth, just a few miles from where we live but with a stretch of water and a ferry crossing between.  Mum wanted to be on the same side of the water as dad, so on Friday we all set off together and mum and I booked into a hotel overnight.  We left him at the hospital at about 1pm and the next time we saw him was at 5pm.  He was sitting up in bed, looking pretty OK.  He has a three inch cut in his neck with 12 stitches, which does look quite dramatic, but the big lump is gone!  Everything went well and he was allowed to come home yesterday.  He is just feeling slightly sore but is suffering no after affects from the general anaesthetic.

I think mum and I were more exhasuted than he was by the time we got home.  I checked on them both today and everything is still fine.   Phew!

Apart from that I’ve had to update the history group website and prepare a presentation for next Saturday, now I have a quarterly report to write before next weekend and then there is a stack of about 100 historic photographs that someone lent to me a couple of months ago that I really must scan so I can return the originals.

Still I’ve managed to do a little art and this is the second spread in my 2012 Revo-lution book which is about the changes I want to make in myself for my intention of becoming a better person.

That’s all for now.

Big love

AJ

6 thoughts on “Revo-lution 2012 – Change

  1. So glad to hear that things went well with your dad! And I wouldn’t worry too much about blog responses…I know, personally, I don’t expect people to respond to every one of mine. Do when you can, say hi occasionally, and keep on sharing pretty stuff–I’m happy 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. So glad everything went well for your father. That had to have been stressful. I am impressed you had a spare moment (and energy) to do art on top of it all! Do not worry about responding to comments – you have to take care of you and your family.

  3. I finally made it. After several refreshes, the entire page loaded. It was worth the wait. I love the colors you used and the caterpillar and butterflies to symbolize change. Just a wonderful page all together.

    So glad your father is doing well. Fathers are special people. I miss mine so much.

    Take care of yourself during this busy time.
    Hugs, Mary

Leave a Reply

